SFU SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY THINKING OF THE WORLD

Minutes of a Meeting of the Senate of Simon Fraser University held on Monday, June 13, 2011 at 5:30 pm at the West Mall Complex (Room 3210)

Open Session

Present: Petter, Andrew, President and Chair

Armstrong, Arthur	Absent:
Black, Sam	Acierno, Kyle
Brandhorst, Bruce	Brennand, Tracy
Cameron, Rob (for N. Rajapakse)	Garneau-Scott, Christi
Chapman, Glenn	Golnaraghi, Farid
Chen, Alexander	Gordon, Robert
Cyr, Dianne	Kohn, Jordan
Dhillon, Arinder	Kopahi, Moe
Driver, Jon	Kropinski, Mary Catherine
Easton, Stephen	Leacock, Tracey
Eckman, Charles	Mann, Geoff
Fee, Jane (for J. Craig)	McRae, Jennifer
Fizzell, Maureen	Myers, Gordon
Fontaine, Marc	O'Neil, John
Francis, June	Parkhouse, Wade
Geisler, Cheryl	Paterson, David
Hughes, David	Pavsek, Christopher
Janes, Craig	Pierce, John
Kong, Shuyu	Pinto, Mario
Krane, Bill	Reyeros, Diego
Laitsch, Dan	Ruben, Peter
Lee, Benjamin	Russell, Robert
Leznoff, Daniel	Sahinalp, Cenk
Magnusson, Kris	Saif, Mehrdad
Mathewes, Rolf (for C. Cupples)	Shapiro, Daniel
Moghaddamjoo, Sarah	Shaw, Chris
Nilson Levisohn, Michelle	Somers, Julian
Percival, Colin	Taylor, Carole
Percival, Paul	Warner, D'Arcy
Perry, Tom	Woodbury, Rob
Peters, Joseph	
Pilarinos, Andreas	
Tabin, Yvonne (for H. Wussow)	

Hinchliffe, Jo, Assistant Registrar (representing K. Ross) Gair, Shelley, Recording Secretary

Tashakor, Pasha Yeung, Lorenz

1. Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved as distributed.

2. Minutes of the Open Session on May 24, 2011

The minutes of the open session on May 24, 2011 will be approved at the Senate meeting on July 4, 2011.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes.

4. **Report of the Chair**

The Chair welcomed the newly elected and re-elected Senators to the first meeting of their term of office and thanked them for their service to the University:

New Convocation Senators: Tracey Leacock, Jennifer McRae Re-elected Convocation Senators: Colin Percival, D'Arcy Warner New Faculty Senators: Tom Perry, Michelle Nilson Levisohn Re-elected Faculty Senators: Farid Golnaraghi, Robert Gordon, June Francis, Daniel Leznoff, Glenn Chapman, Christopher Pavsek, Tracy Brennand New Student Senators: David Hughes, Arthur Armstrong, Jordan Kohn, Marc Fontaine, Diego Reyeros, Alexander Chen, Andreas Pilarinos, Lorenz Yeung Re-elected Student Senators: Sara Moghaddamjoo, Pasha Tashakor, Kyle Acierno, Arry Dhillon, Ben Lee, Christi Garneau-Scott

5. Question Period

i) Response to Senator Black's Question (S.11-82)

Senate received a written response from the Vice-President Academic to Senator Black's questions about published data in the March 6, 2011 issue of Maclean's magazine regarding responses to student satisfaction questions collected by the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSSE) and the Canadian University Survey Consortium (CUSC). A request was made to have these survey results available to all Senators. Senate was informed that the results are available on the Institutional Research and Planning website but it was suggested that a guide could be added to the main page to help locate the information.

A comment was made regarding the low ratings of SFU's food service. Senate was informed by the Chair that the current food services contract will be coming up for reconsideration next year and that consultation with the entire community is planned.

A question was raised regarding evaluating the effectiveness of new initiatives. Senate was informed that some, like first year cohort programs, are offered because research suggests that these programs improve the student's experience. As well, there are some initiatives that are more closely monitored such as the Student Success program, which has data showing improved performance and retention of students who would otherwise have left SFU. Not all the initiatives have a collection of data that shows their effectiveness at SFU and an opinion was expressed that

this is an area that can be improved. The Chair pointed out that the accreditation process that SFU is currently involved in, requires that outcomes are measured.

6. **Reports of Committees**

A) Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies (SCUS)

i) Deletion of Guaranteed Placement Program in School of Computing Science (S.11-83)

Motion

Moved by Bill Krane, seconded by Ben Lee

"that Senate approve the deletion of the Guaranteed Placement Program in the School of Computing Science within the Faculty of Applied Sciences effective Spring 2012."

Question was called and a vote taken.

MOTION CARRIED

ii) Undergraduate Curriculum Revisions (S.11-84 to S.11-89)

Senate received information that the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies, acting under delegated authority, approved new courses and minor revisions to existing courses and program requirements in the Faculties of Applied Sciences; Arts and Social Sciences; Beedie School of Business; Communication, Art and Technology; Education; and Environment.

B) Graduate Curriculum Revisions (S.11-90)

Senate received information that the Senate Committee on Graduate Studies, acting under delegated authority, approved minor revisions to existing courses and program requirements in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.

C) Elections by Senate (S.11-91)

Senate received a summary of the nominations and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senate was informed that online voting will be open for 48 hours starting on June 14, 2011.

7. Other Business

i) Election Report to Senate (S.11-92)

Senate received a report, for information, on the results of elections to Senate and the Board of Governors.

Open session adjourned at 5:53 pm and Senate moved directly into the closed session.

Jo Hinchliffe Assistant Registrar